F1 2018 in the old points system – Part 4

After winning the Japanese GP, Mercedes Lewis Hamilton’s lead has grown to 28 points over chief rival Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel. Meanwhile, Mercedes lead in the Constructors Championship has grown to 35 points over Ferrari.


The points system Formula One currently uses has been used since 2010 allows for the top 10 finishers to claim points and as follows: 1st – 25pts, 2nd – 18pts, 3rd – 15pts, 4th – 12pts, 5th – 10pts, 6th – 8pts, 7th – 6pts, 8th – 4pts, 9th – 2pts and 10th – 1pt.

The points system used in Formula One between 2003 to 2009 was as follows: 1st – 10pts, 2nd – 8pts, 3rd – 6pts, 4th – 5pts, 5th – 4pts, 6th – 3pts, 7th – 2pts and 8th – 1pt.

Japanese GP Result

  1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 10pts
  2. Valterri Bottas, Mercedes, 8pts
  3. Max Verstappen, Red Bull, 6pts
  4. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, 5pts
  5. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, 4pts
  6. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, 3pts
  7. Sergio Perez, Force India, 2pts
  8. Romain Grosjean, Haas, 1pt

Carlos Sainz Jr and Pierre Gasly who finished in 9th and 10th are not awarded points

Hamilton pulls clear after 4th consecutive win

Mercedes Lewis Hamilton heads into the final 4 races of the season with a lead of 28 points over Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel. With Hamilton winning in Russia and Japan and Vettel finishing in 3rd and 6th, the gap at the top has grown significantly but there are still 40 points up for grabs in the final 4 races. Even if Vettel fails to finish in the US and Hamilton wins, his gap will be 38 points heading into the 3 remaining races.

Reverting back to 2018, Hamilton’s lead increased to 67 points over Vettel.

Mercedes extend their comfortable lead over Ferrari

With Hamilton and team-mate Valterri Bottas securing 1-2 finishes at the Russian and Japanese GPs, the German team picked up 36 points to increase their over Ferrari to 35 points. While Mercedes scored 36 points in the past two races, Ferrari only picked up 18 points in total. While Mercedes have secured four 1-2 finishes, Ferrari have yet to do this.

Reverting back to 2018, Mercedes lead Ferrari by 78 points.

Four points separate 6 drivers

Nico Hulkenberg, Kevin Magnussen, Sergio Perez, Fernando Alonso, Esteban Ocon and Romain Grosjean are separated by just 4 points from 10th to 15th. Hulkenberg and Magnussen are tied on 18 points while Perez is on 17 points and Alonso on 16 points. Ocon and Grosjean are also tied on 14 points each. It just shows how competitive the mid-field is as the 6 drivers are from 4 different teams.

Reverting back to 2018, Perez, Magnussen and Hulkenberg are tied on 53 points from 7th to 9th. Alonso and Ocon are in 10th and 11th on 50 and 49 points each while Grosjean is in 13th on 31 points.

Drivers Championship

After Japan D

Constructors Championship

After Japan T

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s