Hamilton extends his championship lead by winning in Italy

Mercedes Lewis Hamilton beats the Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen to win the Italian GP and extends his Championship lead ahead of Sebastian Vettel who finishes 4th after the two championship rivals clashed on the opening lap.


Grid Formation

1.Raikkonen  2.Vettel  3.Hamilton  4.Bottas  5.Verstappen  6.Grosjean  7.Sainz  8.Ocon  9.Gasly  10.Stroll  11.Magnussen  12.Sirotkin  13.Alonso  14.Perez  15.Leclerc  16.Hartley  17.Vandoorne  18.Ericsson*  19.Ricciardo*  20.Hulkenberg*

Ericsson* & Ricciardo* take engine changes while Hulkenberg* takes engine changes and 10-place grid penalty from Belgian GP.


Kevin Magnussen, Charles Leclerc, Marcus Ericsson and Daniel Ricciardo will start on the Soft tyre. Everyone else will start on the Supersoft tyre. The chance of seeing a Safety Car is very low with the last Safety Car to feature round Monza dates back to 2011. Ferrari have not won round here since 2010, can they change that today?

The lights go out and its a good start by the top 3. Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel go side-by-side into turn 4 and there’s contact! Vettel is round and drops to the back of the pack. The Ferrari has damage and pits at the end of 1st lap. A front wing change and a set of Soft tyre and he’s in 18th. Kimi Raikkonen leads ahead of Hamilton, Max Verstappen, Valterri Bottas and Romain Grosjean. Daniel Ricciardo and Nico Hulkenberg also pit at the end of the 1st lap. Ricciardo now on Supersofts and Hulkenberg now on Softs.

Brendon Hartley is also out. The New Zealander got hit by Stoffel Vandoorne and the Sauber of Marcus Ericsson right at the start of the race. Hartley didn’t even make it to turn 1 and is the first retirement of the race.

Lap 4, the Safety Car ends with Kimi Raikkonen leading. Lewis Hamilton pulls to the outside and overtakes Raikkonen before turn 1. Raikkonen hits back and overtakes the Brit round the outside of turn 4. Lap 6, the Stewards decide that the incident between Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel is a racing incident and no further action will be taken. Lap 7, Daniel Ricciardo and Vettel are making progress with the duo in 14th and 15th now. Lap 9, Vettel overtakes Ricciardo for 14th down the outside of turn 1.

Lap 10, Fernando Alonso pits and retires from the race. Lap 11, Nico Hulkenberg overtakes Charles Leclerc for 14th place down into turn 1. Lap 14, the gap at the front is around 8 tenths to 1.2 seconds between Kimi Raikkonen and Lewis Hamilton. Max Verstappen is still holding off the Mercedes of Valterri Bottas for 3rd with Romain Grosjean occupying 5th now ahead of Esteban Ocon and Carlos Sainz. Sebastian Vettel is now 10th, make that 9th as he overtakes the Williams of Lance Stroll on lap 16.

Lap 18, Sebastian Vettel overtakes Sergio Perez for 8th down into turn 1. Lap 19, Valterri Bottas has a pop at Max Verstappen with Verstappen going over the kerbs at turn 1. Verstappen keeps 3rd for the now.

Lap 21, Kimi Raikkonen pits. Lewis Hamilton continues on as Raikkonen comes back out in 4th. Raikkonen now on the Soft tyre, has to push if he wants to re-take the lead. Hamilton stays out as a few drivers, including Raikkonen, reports a hint of rain. Lap 24, Sebastian Vettel overtakes Esteban Ocon for 5th down the inside of turn 1. Lap 25, Daniel Ricciardo is out. Smoke is bellowing out of rear of the Red Bull as the Australian pulls over just after turn 5. Lap 27, Max Verstappen pits. The Red Bull driver goes onto the soft tyre and rejoins in 6th.

Lap 28, Lewis Hamilton pits. The Brit goes onto the Soft tyre and rejoins in 3rd behind Valterri Bottas and Kimi Raikkonen. Bottas, who hasn’t pitted yet, is told by Mercedes to try and hold up Raikkonen to let Hamilton close in. Lap 30, Sebastian Vettel pits and goes onto the Supersoft tyre. That’s his 2nd and final pit-stop of the day. Lap 32, Vettel overtakes Lance Stroll for 8th place down into turn 1. Vettel is 20 seconds off Max Verstappen in 4th. Lap 33, Raikkonen closes in on Bottas but can’t find a way past and now Hamilton is closing on the pair.

Lap 36, Valterri Bottas pits from the lead. The Finn goes onto the Soft tyre and rejoins in 4th behind Max Verstappen. Both Kimi Raikkonen and Lewis Hamilton have damaged their tyres and will be trying to manage their tyres until the end of the race. 15 laps to go and the gap between the top 2 is around about a second. Sebastian Vettel overtakes Sergio Perez for 5th down the inside of turn 8. Meanwhile, Bottas is just 1.6 seconds behind Verstappen, who occupies 3rd.

Lap 43, Valterri Bottas has gone wide at turn 1 and had to go to the escape route after coming together with Max Verstappen. The pair touch tyres and Bottas falls to 4.5 seconds behind the Dutchman. Lap 45, Lewis Hamilton overtakes Kimi Raikkonen round the outside of turn 1 to take the race lead. The Stewards have given Verstappen a 5 second time penalty for causing a collision with Bottas at turn 1. Hamilton has now opened up a gap of 3.3 seconds to Raikkonen.

Lap 39, Valterri Bottas and Max Verstappen scrap at turn 1 and turn 4 but the Dutchman stays ahead for the now. Behind, Sebastian Vettel is closing them down and could be within the 5 seconds of the penalty.

Onto the final lap, Max Verstappen is still ahead of Valterri Bottas but Verstappen will drop behind Sebastian Vettel after his time penalty is applied. Lewis Hamilton wins the Italian GP ahead of Kimi Raikkonen and Max Verstappen. Bottas will be promoted to 3rd and Vettel to 4th with Verstappen down to 5th.

Race Result

  1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 53 Laps (6th win of the season & 5th at Monza)
  2. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, +8.705s (Fans Driver of the Day & 100th Career Podium)
  3. Valterri Bottas, Mercedes, +14.066s
  4. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, +16.151s
  5. Max Verstappen, Red Bull, +18.208s
  6. Esteban Ocon, Racing Point Force India, +57.761s
  7. Sergio Perez, Racing Point Force India, +58.678s
  8. Carlos Sainz Jr, Renault, +78.140s
  9. Lance Stroll, Williams, + 1 Lap
  10. Sergey Sirotkin, Williams, + 1 Lap (First F1 Point)
  11. Charles Leclerc, Sauber, + 1 Lap
  12. Stoffel Vandoorne, McLaren, + 1 Lap
  13. Nico Hulkenberg, Renault, + 1 Lap
  14. Pierre Gasly, Toro Rosso, + 1 Lap
  15. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber, + 1 Lap
  16. Kevin Magnussen, Haas, + 1 Lap
  • Romain Grosjean, Haas, +56.320s – DSQ
  • Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, DNF
  • Fernando Alonso, McLaren, DNF
  • Brendon Hartley, Toro Rosso, DNF

Drivers Championship

  1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 256pts
  2. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, 326pts
  3. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, 164pts
  4. Valterri Bottas, Mercedes, 159pts
  5. Max Verstappen, Red Bull, 130pts

Constructors Championship

  1. Mercedes, 415pts
  2. Ferrari, 390pts
  3. Red Bull, 248pts
  4. Haas, 84pts
  5. Renault, 84pts



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s