Ricciardo survives to win Monaco GP after power loss

Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo survives a loss of engine power to win an intriguing Monaco GP ahead of Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Mercedes Lewis Hamilton as Max Verstappen finishes 9th after starting last.


Grid Formation

1.Ricciardo  2.Vettel  3.Hamilton  4.Raikkonen  5.Bottas  6.Ocon  7.Alonso  8.Sainz  9.Perez  10.Gasly  11.Hulkenberg  12.Vandoorne  13.Sirotkin  14.Leclerc  15.Hartley  16.Ericsson  17.Stroll  18.Grosjean*  19.Magnussen  20.Verstappen

Grosjean* carries a 3 place grid penalty from the Spanish GP after his lap 1 spin in which the Stewards held him responsible – 15th – 18th.


Lights out and away they go. It’s an ideal start for Daniel Ricciardo who leads down into turn 1. Sebastian Vettel, Lewis Hamilton, Kimi Raikkonen and Valterri Bottas round out the top 5. Brendon Hartley reports to his Toro Rosso team that he may have lost a bit of his front wing. He doesn’t pit and continues on. From last, Max Verstappen is already past both Haas drivers to 18th after just 1 lap.

Both Williams drivers have made up a place each with Sergey Sirotkin now 12th after starting 13th and Lance Stroll is now 16th after starting 17th. Although, Sirotkin is under investigation by the Stewards as his wheels were not fitted at the 3-minute signal. It’s a slam-dunk penalty of a 10 second time stop/go penalty. Lap 7, Verstappen overtakes Stroll down into turn 10 and up into 16th. Sirotkin pits and serves his penalty at the end of lap 7.

Lap 10, Stroll has got a puncture. The Canadian makes his way to the pits with the Williams pit-crew changing the front wing and tyres. Stroll, now on the Supersoft tyres, can go to the end of the race. Horrible start to the race for Williams with Sirotkin 19th and Stroll 20th. Lap 12, Hamilton pits and onto the Supersoft tyre. From 3rd, he drops to 6th behind Esteban Ocon, who hasn’t pitted yet. Ricciardo and Vettel up their pace as Hamilton overtakes Ocon. Lap 16, Vettel pits, goes onto the Ultrasoft tyre and rejoins in 3rd – crucially ahead of Hamilton. Ricciardo responds at the end of lap 16 with the Australian going onto the Ultrasoft and resumes in the lead. Raikkonen and Bottas pit as well with Raikkonen now back in 4th and Bottas in 7th.

Ricciardo and Vettel seem to be struggling to warm-up their fresh tyres. Lap 19, Fernando Alonso pits, resumes in 10th and now on the Supersoft tyre. Interestingly, Bottas pitted for the Supersoft tyre and is going quite quickly now in 5th. Lap 22, Sergio Perez pits but it’s a slow stop for the Force India crew as the right-rear takes ages to come off, costing the Mexican a lot of time and places. The Stewards have issued Hartley with a 5 second time penalty for speeding in the pit-lane.

Lap 28, Ricciardo is losing power. He reports to his Red Bull team. His theory his true. The gap only 6 laps ago was 3 seconds, now on lap 29, it’s only 8 tenths. Vettel reports back to Ferrari that he suspects that Ricciardo is losing power down the straights. Red Bull tell him that he will have to put up with this issue for the remaining 46 laps and give him encouragement. Even Red Bull don’t know what the issue is!

Lap 38, Pierre Gasly pits from 6th. The Frenchman pits for the first time, goes onto the Supersoft tyre and rejoins in 10th, the position he qualified in. Lap 41, Hamilton in 3rd has closed the gap to Ricciardo and Vettel to 2 and a bit seconds from just over 9 seconds. He’s bringing Raikkonen and Bottas along with him. Bottas is in the best position with the Finn being on Supersoft tyre with the top 4 (Ricciardo, Vettel, Hamilton and Raikkonen) all on Ultrasoft. If they have to pit due to the tyre wear, Bottas will be in the lead.

Lap 48, Verstappen pits from 9th, goes onto the Hypersoft tyre and rejoins in 11th. Verstappen’s pit-stop leaves Nico Hulkenberg, currently in 6th, as the only driver not to have come into the pits and changed tyres. Lap 51, Hulkenberg pits, goes onto the Hypersoft tyre and rejoins in 10th, just ahead of Verstappen. Lap 54, Alonso loses power and pulls over at turn 1. The McLaren driver is out and becomes the first driver to retire from the race.

Lap 55, Hulkenberg on the Hypersoft tyre has rapidly caught up with team-mate Carlos Sainz with Verstappen right behind Hulkenberg. Sainz lets Hulkenberg past through turns 1 and 2. Hulkenberg now 8th, Sainz 9th and Verstappen 10th. Lap 58, Verstappen dives down the inside of turn 10 of Sainz, ridding the kerb in and keeping 9th.

Lap 65, the battle for 7th is on. Hulkenberg and Verstappen have caught up with Gasly in 7th with the three drivers covered by just 1 and a half seconds. Ocon in 6th meanwhile, is catching Bottas and the top 4. The gap was over 10 seconds and is now just 7 seconds. Lap 72, Ocon is doing a superb job and is now only under 1 second behind Bottas.

Lap 72, Leclerc hits the back of Hartley. The VSC is out as Hartley trundles back to the pits with substantial damage to the rear of the Toro Rosso. Leclerc seems to have had some sort of brake failure and ploughed into the back of Hartley down into turn 10. Lap 74, the VSC ends with Ricciardo still leading ahead of Vettel and Hamilton. Vettel appears to be struggling with tyre temperatures and has fallen back from Ricciardo.

Raikkonen is currently holding off Bottas, Ocon, Gasly, Hulkenberg and Verstappen in the battle for 4th. Lap 78, Ricciardo starts his final lap as he leads by 7 seconds ahead of Vettel. Daniel Ricciardo crosses the finish line to win the Monaco GP on Red Bull’s 250th GP start with Vettel in 2nd and Hamilton in 3rd.

Race Result

  1. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, 78 Laps (7th GP win and Fans Driver of the Day)
  2. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, +7.336s
  3. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, +17.013s
  4. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, +18.127s
  5. Valterri Bottas, Mercedes, +18.822s
  6. Esteban Ocon, Force India, +23.667s
  7. Pierre Gasly, Toro Rosso, +24.331s
  8. Nico Hulkenberg, Renault, +24.839s
  9. Max Verstappen, Red Bull, +25.317s (DHL Fastest Lap Award)
  10. Carlos Sainz, Renault, +1:09.013s
  11. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber, +1:09.864s
  12. Sergio Perez, Force India, +1:10.461s
  13. Kevin Magnussen, Haas, + 1:14.823s
  14. Stoffel Vandoorne, McLaren, + 1 Lap
  15. Romain Grosjean, Haas, + 1 Lap
  16. Sergey Sirotkin, Williams, + 1 Lap
  17. Lance Stroll, Williams, + 2 Laps
  • Charles Leclerc, Sauber, DNF
  • Brendon Hartley, Toro Rosso, DNF
  • Fernando Alonso, McLaren, DNF










One thought on “Ricciardo survives to win Monaco GP after power loss

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s