Vettel wins as Hamilton fights back

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel wins the Brazilian GP ahead of pole-sitter Valterri Bottas and Kimi Raikkonen as Lewis Hamilton fights back through the field after starting from the pit-lane.


Tyre Choice

Daniel Ricciardo, Marcus Ericsson, Pierre Gasly and Lewis Hamilton will start on the Soft tyre. Everyone else will start on the Supersoft tyre.


The lights go out and both Valterri Bottas and Sebastian Vettel get a good start. Vettel is able to squeeze down the inside of turn 1 to lead. Bottas follows in 2nd with Kimi Raikkonen in 3rd. Max Verstappen holds off Fernando Alonso for 4th.

Daniel Ricciardo goes round the outside of Stoffel Vandoorne and Kevin Magnussen of turn 2. The Australian spins and ends up on the grass. Was there contact? Up ahead, on the approach to turn 6, Esteban Ocon and Romain Grosjean go side-by-side. Contact is made and both spin. The Safety Car is deployed for Vandoorne’s stricken McLaren.

The replay shows that Kevin Magnussen hit Stoffel Vandoorne who was then forced to hit Daniel Ricciardo. Another replay shows that Romain Grosjean lost the rear of the car, sliding into Ocon. The Safety Car leads the cars through the pits as Ricciardo and Grosjean pit for the Soft tyre. Ocon, Magnussen and Vandoorne are out of the race. The Safety Car comes in and we’re racing on lap 5.

Felipe Massa overtakes Fernando Alonso for 5th into turn 1. Lap 7, Lewis Hamilton overtakes Lance Stroll for 12th into turn 1. Lap 10, Hamilton now overtakes Carlos Sainz for 9th into turn 1. Lap 11, Daniel Ricciardo comes from a long way back to overtake Stroll for 13th into turn 1. Ricciardo is on fire and overtakes Marcus Ericsson for 12th into turn 4.

Lap 20, Lewis Hamilton has caught up to Fernando Alonso and overtakes the McLaren driver into turn 1 for 6th. Lap 21, Hamilton now overtakes Felipe Massa for 5th into turn 4. Romain Grosjean is given a 10 second time penalty for causing a collision. Lap 24, Pascal Wehrlein reports back to his Sauber team that he is experiencing a loss of power. Lap 28, Valterri Bottas pits. The Finn rejoins in 5th on the Soft tyre.

Lap 29, Sebastian Vettel and Max Verstappen pit. Both go onto the Soft tyre. Vettel rejoins on the track just ahead of Valterri Bottas. Kimi Raikkonen also pits going onto the Soft tyre. Lap 31, Lewis Hamilton now leads without making his first stop ahead of Vettel, Bottas and Raikkonen. After the round of pit-stops, Fernando Alonso still finds himself behind Felipe Massa. Lap 42, Toro Rosso tell Brendon Hartley to retire the car. It’s a shame for Hartley as he was hoping for a points finish.

Lap 44, the number 44 car comes in for his first pit-stop. Lewis Hamilton rejoins on the Supersoft tyre in 5th while Daniel Ricciardo rejoins in 8th on the Supersoft tyre as well. Hamilton is told a podium finish is within his grasp and he responds by setting the fastest lap of the race. Lap 47, Ricciardo overtakes Felipe Massa for 6th place into turn 1. Lap 52, Hamilton is rapidly catching Max Verstappen and is only 14 seconds behind race leader Sebastian Vettel.

Lap 59, Lewis Hamilton overtakes Max Verstappen for 4th into turn 4. Lap 62, Sergio Perez is keeping within close distance to Massa/Alonso battle with Nico Hulkenberg 12 seconds behind Perez in 10th. Carlos Sainz is currently in 11th with Pierre Gasly and Pascal Wehrlein in 12th and 13th. Having lost the position to Hamilton, Verstappen pits on lap 63 going onto the Supersoft tyre.

Lap 66, Lewis Hamilton has caught up to the back of 3rd place Kimi Raikkonen. Lap 69, Lance Stroll is going very slowly with a left front puncture. Sebastian Vettel comes round to win ahead of Valterri Bottas. But who will get the final podium spot? Raikkonen holds onto his 3rd consecutive podium finish ahead of Hamilton. Felipe Massa holds onto 7th just ahead of Fernando Alonso and Sergio Perez. Hamilton gets the fans “Driver of the Day.”

Race Result

1.Vettel  2.Bottas  3.Raikkonen  4.Hamilton  5.Verstappen  6.Ricciardo  7.Massa  8.Alonso  9.Perez  10.Hulkenberg  11.Sainz  12.Gasly  13.Ericsson  14.Wehrlein  15.Grosjean  16.Stroll  DNF Hartley, Ocon, Magnussen and Vandoorne.

Drivers Championship

  1. Lewis Hamilton 345pts
  2. Sebastian Vettel 302pts
  3. Valterri Bottas 280pts
  4. Daniel Ricciardo 200pts
  5. Kimi Raikkonen 193pts
  6. Max Verstappen158pts
  7. Sergio Perez 94pts
  8. Esteban Ocon 83pts
  9. Carlos Sainz 54pts
  10. Felipe Massa 42pts

Constructors Championship

  1. Mercedes 625pts
  2. Ferrari 495pts
  3. Red Bull 358pts
  4. Force India 177pts
  5. Williams 82pts
  6. Toro Rosso 53pts
  7. Renault 49pts
  8. Haas 47pts
  9. McLaren 28pts
  10. Sauber 5pts


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s