Formula E Season 4 Information

With Season 4 commencing in early December, here is the background information about the all-electric series.


Team and Driver Line-up

  • Renault e.Dams: Sebastian Buemi and Nico Prost
  • Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler: Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt
  • Mahindra Racing: Felix Rosenqvist and Nick Heidfeld
  • DS Virgin Racing: Sam Bird and Alex Lynn
  • Techeetah: Jean-Eric Vergne and Andre Lotterer 
  • NIO Formula E Team: Oliver Turvey and Luca Filippi
  • Andretti Formula E: Antonio Felix da Costa and Tom Blomqvist 
  • Dragon Racing: Jerome d’Ambrosio and Jose Maria Lopez
  • Venturi Formula E: Maro Engel and Edoardo Mortara
  • Panasonic Jaguar Racing: Nelson Piquet Jr and Mitch Evans

Driver Changes

  • 2016 World Endurance Champion, Neel Jani joins the series with Dragon Racing alongside 2 time Formula E winner Jerome d’Ambrosio replacing Loic Duval.
  • Inaugural Formula E Champion, Nelson Piquet Jr moves from NIO Formula E Team to Panasonic Jaguar Racing for Season 4 alongside Mitch Evans replacing Adam Carroll.
  • Former reserve driver of the team, Alex Lynn steps up to a full-time race seat at DS Virgin Racing alongside Sam Bird for Season 4. Lynn raced in New York in Season 3 for the team replacing Lopez as he had prior commitments to the World Endurance Championship.
  • Jean-Eric Vergne will stay with Techeetah for Season 4 and will be partnered by World Endurance Championship LMP1 star Andre Lotterer. Lotterer, has won The  Le Mans 24 Hours 3 times. He replaces Stephane Sarrazin.
  • IndyCar podium finisher Luca Filippi will partner Oliver Turvey at the NIO Formula E team. The 2011 GP2 runner-up will replace Nelson Piquet.
  • Edoardo Mortara replaces Tom Dillmann at Venturi for Season 4 and will partner Maro Engel who stays for a second season.
  • BMW factory driver Tom Blomqvist will partner Antonio Felix da Costa at Andretti Autosport. Blomqvist replaces Robin Frijns for Season 4.

Season Changes

  • After just one race in Formula E, Neel Jani and Dragon Racing parted ways. Former DS Virgin Racing driver, Jose Maria Lopez replaces Jani for the rest of the season.

Pre Season Testing

Testing for Season will be held at the Ricardo Tormo track in Valencia over October 2-5. The new official test venue, which will contain three days of testing taking place.

Picture courtesy of the official Formula E website.

Race Calendar

  • Round 1: Hong Kong ePrix Race 1, Hong Kong, 2nd December 2017
  • Round 2: Hong Kong ePrix, Race 2, Honk Kong, 3rd December 2017
  • Round 3: Marrakesh ePrix, Morocco, 13th January 2018
  • Round 4: Santiago ePrix, Chile, 3rd February 2018
  • Round 5: Mexico City ePrix, Mexico, 3rd March 2018
  • Round 6: Sao Paulo ePrix, Brazil, 17th March 2018
  • Round 7: Rome ePrix, Italy, 14th April 2018
  • Round 8: Paris ePrix, France, 28th April 2018
  • Round 9: Berlin ePrix, Germany, 19th May 2018
  • Round 10: Zurich ePrix, Switzerland, 10th June 2018
  • Round 11: New York ePrix Race 1, United States, 14th July 2018
  • Round 12: New York ePrix, Race 2, United States, 15th July 2018
  • Round 13: Montreal ePrix Race 1, Canada, 28th July 2018
  • Round 14: Montreal ePrix, Race 2, Canada, 29th July 2018

On the Blog

For Season 4, I will be covering more race weekends for Formula E. The rounds I covered during Season 3 went down really well despite only doing 2 race reviews. I really enjoyed writing them and provisionally, I am looking to cover around 7 of the 14 races. This can be changed and tweaked if needed.

For all the latest news and results for Formula E, you can go to the official website here:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s