Hamilton beats Vettel in Spain thriller

Mercedes Lewis Hamilton beats Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo in thrilling race as Pascal Wehrlein scores his and Sauber’s first points of the season.


Vandoorne given 10 place grid penalty

McLaren’s Stoffel Vandoorne has been handed a 10-place grid penalty for the Spanish GP as Honda was forced to change two engine components. After detecting a sensor issue on Sunday morning, the Japanese manufacturer changed the energy store and control electronics on Vandoorne’s car ahead of the race.

Tyre Choice

Jolyon Palmer, Daniil Kvyat and Stoffel Vandoorne will start on the Medium compound tyre with the rest of the grid starting on the Soft tyre.


The lights go out and Sebastian get a better start than Lewis Hamilton and leads going down into turn 1. Valterri Bottas goes to the inside of turn 1 with Kimi Raikkonen and Max Verstappen making three wide. Contact is made with Raikkonen breaking his left-front suspension. Exiting turn 2, Fernando Alonso goes across the gravel. He recovers but drops to 11th place. Going onto lap 2, Vettel has a 2 second gap to Hamilton who is ahead of Bottas, Daniel Ricciardo, Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon. By lap 3, Verstappen officially retires with Raikkonen also out. Lap 7, Vettel’s gap has extended to 2.4 seconds with Hamilton telling his team that it’s “not easy to keep up with Vettel.” A replay from the start shows Felipe Massa hitting Alonso between turn 2 and 3 forcing Alonso wide and also resulting in a puncture for Massa.

Lap 8, Sebastian Vettel sets the new fastest lap of a 1:25:806. Lap 11, the stewards confirm that there will be no action taken between Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso. Lap 13, Lewis Hamilton is told to push by his Mercedes team as Alonso pits. Lap 14, Kevin Magnussen and Carlos Sainz pit. Both go onto the Soft tyre like Alonso but both are near enough side-by-side as they head down the pi-lane. Magnussen edges ahead with Sainz taking to the grass. Lap 15, Vettel pits from the lead, he goes onto the Soft tyre and emerges back out in 4th. Lap 16, Vettel overtakes Daniel Ricciardo into turn 1 and is now up into 3rd place. Lap 21, Hamilton and Ricciardo pit with both switching to the Medium tyre.

Lap 25, Sebastian Vettel overtakes Valterri Bottas who is yet to pit into turn 1 and up into 1st place. Lewis Hamilton now breezes past Bottas and up into 2nd place. Lap 27, Bottas pits goes onto the Medium tyre and rejoining back in 3rd. Lap 33, Vettel now has 7.7 second gap to Hamilton. Lap 36, Felipe Massa is behind Stoffel Vandoorne and moves towards the inside for turn 1. Vandoorne moves closer to Massa and there’s contact. Vandoorne has broken his left-front suspension. He pulls over and stops at turn 2. The VSC is deployed and Hamilton pits going onto the Soft tyre. Lap 38, Vettel pits going onto the Medium tyre but where will he come out on track? Hamilton is coming down the start/finish straight and Vettel and himself go side-by-side into turn 1! Vettel edges out Hamilton and remains in the lead for now.

The VSC wiped out Sebastian Vettel’s lead allowing Lewis Hamilton to pit and close up. Lap 39, Daniel Ricciardo pits going onto the Medium tyre as Valterri Bottas pulls over and is out. Lap 40, Vettel leads ahead of Hamilton, Ricciardo, Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon. Lap 44, Hamilton has now closed up to Vettel and now has DRS to help him. Vettel covers off the inside to turn 1 but Hamilton goes round the out-side and takes the lead. Lap 47, Pascal Wehrlein has received a 5 second time penalty for failing to stay right of the pit entry bollard.

Lap 59, Lance Stroll has his team-mate Felipe Massa behind now after being overtaken by Marcus Ericsson on the previous lap. Lap 66, Kevin Magnussen has got a puncture after contact with Daniil Kvyat. This ends his good race as he was running well into the points. Lewis Hamilton comes round to win ahead of Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo.

Race Results

1.Hamilton  2.Vettel  3.Ricciardo  4.Perez  5.Ocon  6.Hulkenberg  7.Sainz  8.Wehrlein*  9.Kvyat  10.Grosjean  11.Ericsson  12.Alonso  13.Massa  14.Stroll  15.Magnussen  16.Palmer  17.Stroll  DNF Bottas, Vandoorne, Verstappen and Raikkonen

Wehrlein* took his 5 second time penalty at the end of the race for failing to stay right of the pit lane bollard.

Race stats

  • Lewis Hamilton now joins Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso as the only current drivers to have won twice in Spain, has now won two races this season, and 55 overall in his career.
  • Nico Hulkenberg extended his – and Renault’s – points streak to three races as he came home in a season’s best sixth place.
  • Pascal Wehrlein finished in the top ten for just the second time in his career as he scored his and Sauber’s first points of 2017.
  • Fernando Alonso reached the chequered flag for the first time this season as he came home in 12th, which also represents McLaren’s best finish of 2017.

Drivers Championship

  1. Sebastian Vettel 104pts
  2. Lewis Hamilton 98pts
  3. Valterri Bottas 63pts
  4. Kimi Raikkonen 49pts
  5. Daniel Ricciardo 37pts
  6. Max Verstappen 35pts
  7. Sergio Perez 34pts
  8. Esteban Ocon 19pts
  9. Felipe Massa 18pts
  10. Carlos Sainz 17pts

Constructors Championship

  1. Mercedes 161pts
  2. Ferrari 153pts
  3. Red Bull 72pts
  4. Force India 53pts
  5. Torro Rosso 21pts
  6. Williams 18pts
  7. Renault 14pts
  8. Haas 9pts
  9. Sauber 4pts
  10. McLaren 0pts




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s