Abu Dhabi Qualifying Round 21

Lewis Hamilton takes pole position ahead of championship rival Nico Rosberg and Red Bulls Daniel Ricciardo as Felipe Massa qualifies 9th in final F1 weekend.



Daniil Kvyat is the first car out on track and is the first to set a lap time of a 1:43:007. Jenson Button tops the times before Lewis Hamilton goes fastest on a 1:39.487 on the Ultrasoft tyre. Nico Rosberg follows his team-mate but is slower on a 1:40:511. Sebastian Vettel goes quicker than Rosberg on a 1:40:359. Kimi Raikkonen’s second flying lap puts him 2nd behind Hamilton but ahead of Vettel.

With 3 minutes to go, Jolyon Palmer, Daniil Kvyat, Carlos Sainz, Marcus Ericsson, Esteban Ocon and Felipe Nasr are in the drop-zone at the moment. Jenson Button saves himself from being eliminated but Ericsson and Ocon aren’t so lucky. Palmer and Pascal Wehrlein improve unlike Kvyat, Kevin Magnussen or Sainz. Lewis Hamilton ends Q1 quickest ahead of Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel.

Out: Ericsson – 22nd, Sainz – 21st, Ocon – 20th, Nasr – 19th, Magnussen – 18th and Kvyat – 17th.


Lewis Hamilton is the first car out on track followed by Nico Rosberg and Kimi Raikkonen, all on the Ultrasoft tyre. Hamilton is first to cross the line on a 1:39:382 with Rosberg slower on a 1:39:490. Both Red Bull cars of Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen have opted to set their lap times on the Supersoft tyre. Verstappen goes 4th and Ricciardo goes 6th.

With 3 minutes to go, Fernando Alonso, Esteban Gutierrez, Romain Grosjean, Jolyon Palmer, Pascal Wehrlein and Jenson Button sit in the drop-zone at the moment. Alonso’s lap is quicker than Valterri Bottas and he is safe for Q3. Button, Grosjean, Gutierrez, Palmer and Wehrlein cannot progress to the final part of qualifying. Lewis Hamilton ends Q2 quickest ahead of Nico Rosberg and Kimi Raikkonen.

Out: Wehrlein – 16th, Palmer – 15th, Grosjean – 14th, Gutierrez – 13th, Button – 12th and Bottas – 11th.


Lewis Hamilton is first on the track and is the first to set a superb lap time of a 1:39:013. Nico Rosberg follows and it is close between the both but Rosberg can only manage a 1:39:359. Kimi Raikkonen goes 3rd with Daniel Ricciardo 4th, Max Verstappen 5th and Sebastian Vettel 6th.

With 4 minutes to go, the drivers head back out on track for their final runs. Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg are very close in terms of lap time, who will take pole position? Hamilton goes to provisional pole position on a 1:38:755. What a lap, Rosberg cannot beat that and Hamilton is on Pole. Daniel Ricciardo beats Kimi Raikkonen to 3rd place with Felipe Massa starting 9th for his final F1 race.

Top 10: Alonso – 10th, Massa – 9th, Perez – 8th, Hulkenberg – 7th, Verstappen – 6th, Vettel – 5th, Raikkonen – 4th.

Top 3: Ricciardo – 3rd, Rosberg – 2nd and Hamilton – 1st.

Qualifying results

1.Hamilton  2.Rosberg  3.Ricciardo  4.Raikkonen  5.Vettel  6.Verstappen  7.Hulkenberg  8.Perez  9.Massa  10.Alonso  11.Bottas  12.Button  13.Gutierrez  14.Grosjean  15.Palmer  16.Wehrlein  17.Kvyat  18.Magnussen  19.Nasr  20.Ocon  21.Sainz  22.Ericsson

How can it be won?

With one GP to go, Lewis Hamilton trails Nico Rosberg by 12 points, with a maximum of 25 available in tomorrow’s race. Hamilton needs to claim victory in Abu Dhabi on Sunday and hope Rosberg finishes outside the top three, or does not finish at all. If Hamilton retires, Rosberg will win the championship despite where he finishes.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s