Malaysian GP Preview

Nico Rosberg took the lead in the drivers championship for the first time since the British GP after his win at the Singapore GP. How will Lewis Hamilton react to a difficult weekend in Singapore and is this Ferrari’s last chance for a GP victory this year?


History of the Malaysian GP

The Sepang International Circuit has held the title of the Malaysian GP since 1999. Eddie Irvine for Ferrari won the inaugural race. Drivers and teams always have to keep an eye on the forecast as rain heavily disrupted the race back in 2009. Half points were awarded with Jenson Button taking victory that year. Kimi Raikkonen took his first ever win in F1 back in 2003 driving for McLaren. I will always remember the race in 2012 where Sergio Perez took his first ever podium behind race winner Fernando Alonso.

Track facts

  • First GP: 1999
  • Laps: 56
  • Circuit length: 5.543km
  • Race distance: 310.408km
  • Lap record: 1:34:233, Juan Pablo Montoya, 2004
  • Corners: 15

Most Wins

Sebastian Vettel has the most GP wins around Malaysia with 4, his last win last year. Fernando Alonso and Michael Schumacher are tied on 3 wins each with Kimi Raikkonen on 2 wins. Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton have 1 win each.

F1 News

Alonso to take new Honda upgrade

McLaren’s Fernando Alonso is set to start from the back of the grid at the Malaysia GP with Honda trialling new engine parts this weekend.Alonso will pick up a 30-place grid penalty.

Ahead of their home race in Japan next week, Honda will trial a new power unit on Alonso’s MP4-31 in Practice One at Sepang on Friday.

FIA release provisional calendar for 2017

The FIA have released a provisional calendar for 2017 with the Canadian, German and Brazilian GPs in doubt.Each race was listed as subject to confirmation on the first provisional 2017 calendar published by governing body the FIA. Brazil is facing financial troubles, Germany’s problems come from the financial collapse of the Nurburgring and Canada has to improve its track.

The calendar closely echoes this year’s record 21-race season. It will start in Australia on 26 March and end in Abu Dhabi on 26 November.

Other Motorsport News

Eight drivers in contention to lift BTCC title

An unprecedented number of drivers remain in contention to win the 2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship as the grand finale approaches at Brands Hatch this weekend.

Renault e.dams reveal new look for season 3

Defending FIA Formula E Championship Teams’ and Drivers’ title winners Renault e.dams has unveiled its livery for season three of the all-electric city street racing series, featuring a vivid blue colour with flashes of bright yellow.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s