Spanish Race Round 5

Max Verstappen wins the Spanish grand prix and becomes the youngest driver to do so ahead of Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel as both Mercedes cars of Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg collide and crash out on the 1st lap.


Tyre Choice

Most of the grid have opted for the Soft tyre with Manor’s Rio Haryanto is the only car to start on the Medium tyre.


The lights go green and way goes Lewis Hamilton from pole position with Nico Rosberg in hot pursuit, tucking into Hamilton’s slipstream and goes to the outside of turn 1. He makes the move but his run of turn 1 and 2 is compromised heading out of the long turn 3 with Hamilton getting a better exit of turn 3 and going to the inside of turn 4. Rosberg slowly moves to the inside and doesn’t see Hamilton and Hamilton is forced onto the grass, spins and and hits Rosberg! Hamilton as he enters the gravel trap, has his hands on his head with Rosberg beached in the gravel. Both Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg are both in the gravel trap at turn 4.

A dream scenario for the rest of the teams and drivers on the grid but devastation for Mercedes.

The Safety car is out with Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo leading ahead of Max Verstappen, Carlos Sainz, Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen. Lap 3, the Safety car is in and the racing gets back under way. Lap 8, Sebastian Vettel overtakes Carlos Sainz into turn 1 and is now 3rd. Lap 9, Kimi Raikkonen now overtakes Sainz into turn 1 and is up to 4th.

The drivers are making their first pit stops with Carlos Sainz, Jenson Button, Nico Hulkenberg and Kevin Magnussen pitting at the end of lap 10 and going onto the Medium tyre. Race leader, Daniel Ricciardo, Fernando Alonso and Jolyon Palmer pit at the end of lap 11 and all go onto the Medium tyre. At the end of lap 12, Max Verstappen, Kimi Raikkonen and Valterri Bottas pit and all go onto the Medium tyre. How long will Sebastian Vettel, the only car in the top 10 not to have come into the pits stay out for?

Sebastian Vettel waits until the end of lap 15 to make his first pit stop and goes onto the Medium tyre. Daniel Ricciardo leads ahead of Max Verstappen, Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen. Lap 21, Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg has pulled over in the final sector with smoke coming out from the rear of the car and that ends another short race for the German driver.

At the end of lap 28, Daniel Ricciardo pits from the lead and goes onto the Soft tyre. Ferrari get Sebastian Vettel to pit the next lap to cover Ricciardo. Vettel also goes onto the Soft tyre. What is happening now is that Daniel Ricciardo and Sebastian Vettel are going to do a 3 stop strategy with Max Verstappen and Kimi Raikkonen going to do a 2 stop strategy to the end of the race.

Lap 34, Verstappen pits form the lead and goes onto the Medium tyre for the final stint. Lap 35, Raikkonen pits from the lead and goes onto the Medium tyre also for the final stint. Lap 37, Vettel now pits and is going to make the 3 stop work, he puts the Medium tyre on. Lap 39, Valterri Bottas pits from a lonely 5th place and goes onto the medium tyre. At the end of lap 43, Ricciardo pits and follows Vettel on a 3 stop by putting the Medium tyre on and also appears back out on track behind Vettel.

Lap 47, McLaren Honda’s Fernando Alonso pulls over in sector 1 at turn 3, reporting a loss of power and is out. Lap 59, Daniel Ricciardo tries to overtake Sebastian Vettel in turn 1 by an ambitious dive bomb on Vettel. It doesn’t work and he goes wide and Vettel in back in front as they enter turn 2. Vettel isn’t amused by the almost brilliant move by Ricciardo. Lap 65, approaching sector 3, Daniel Ricciardo has dropped back off of Vettel. Is the Red Bull car sick? No, its a left rear puncture for Ricciardo! He pits and rejoins ahead of Valtteri Bottas in 4th. Max Verstappen wins ahead of Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel.

Race Result

1.Verstappen  2.Raikkonen  3.Vettel  4.Ricciardo  5.Bottas  6.Sainz  7.Perez  8.Massa  9.Button  10.Kvyat  11.Gutierrez  12.Ericsson  13.Palmer  14.Nasr  15.Magnussen*  16.Wehrlein  17.Haryanto  DNF Grosjean, Alonso, Hulkenberg, Hamilton and Rosberg

Magnussen* originally finished 14th but was given a 10 second penalty for a collision with Renault team-mate Jolyon Palmer on the final lap. This penalty dropped Magnussen from 14th to 15th.

Race Facts

  • Today Max Verstappen broke many F1 records some included these: At 18 years and 228 days, Max Verstappen is the youngest race winner in F1 history. He also became the sport’s youngest race leader and youngest podium finisher.
  • Also proving a point at Torro Rosso, Daniil Kvyat set the fastest lap of the race with a 1:26:948.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s